Rejection

Rejection does not mean dejection.

That is Scribbly Gum’s First Law of Getting Letters from Publishers.

OK, you guessed it. I just got a rejection letter. A rejection email, but the result is the same. After all, they wanted the sub on email. The publisher has had the full manuscript since mid October. It took eight weeks for them to get back to me, that’s normal.

The letter was polite. That is not necessarily normal but probably an increasing trend.

It was a SNARL – which is not as bad as it sounds – a Sensitive New Age Rejection Letter. A friendly snarl, one with a smile and a final line of good wishes with other publishers.

The result? I refuse to get dejected. I’ve had rejection letters before. They exist. They float around out there in the ether or in cyberspace or wherever it is that things float these days. And having floated, they settle on people. Tonight one settled on me. I shook it off before it’s little brother ‘Dejection’ caught up with it.

I will work on the novel. I will consult with people who give solid advice. I will submit to another publisher. I will re-invent the wheel. Oh, wait a minute, somebody’s already done that.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Rejection”

  1. Cliff Burns Says:

    It must be over 1500 rejections for me–and I STILL snarl when I pop open a SASE (self addressed stamped envelope, to you amateurs out there) and find a 3 X 5″ form slip. A SLIP, not even a letter. And I’ve been a pro writer for 20+ years, a long list of credits, etc. There is no discrimination from editors though–they send me the same SLIP as the guy who submitted a batch of poems, written in crayon, about a beloved family pet. More editors are barely functioning morons but thanks to the proliferation of amateur authors on the internet or emerging from swelling creative writing courses, now editors are barely functioning OVER-WORKED morons. It’s a depressing state of affairs…

  2. scribblygum Says:

    Hi Cliff,

    Welcome to here.

    1500? That must be a 3×5 SLIP every five days. You must be due for a change by now.

    Tell you what, how about I give you the name of the publisher I just got rejected by? They send out really nice rejection emails.

    They even included a link to a page of cute poetry about a kid’s dog that died. Written in multi-coloured crayon which, on the second reading, was obviously symbolic of the multi-layered meanings hidden within the poems.

    Those poems sure did make me depressed…

Leave a Reply

