The Countdown

It’s almost 9pm Friday local time. Twelve hours ago I drove out to work. My neighbour was talking to the driver of a truck that had just pulled up outside his house. In the truck? The noise. It was the local juke-box and karaoke hire.

I thanked the neighbour for the wine.

“Tell your mate he’s got great taste in reds,” I said.

“I’ll tell him,”

“And have a great day setting up.”

“Thanks. Have a good one.”

The kids played around on the karaoke a bit this afternoon. Twenty four hours and it’s on in earnest. And me? I’ll be sitting somewhere quiet, perhaps down near the lake, drinking some very nice red.

“Have a good one.”

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

