Back In the Saddle

It’s been a while. I’ve been doing other stuff. Motorbike stuff. And writing stuff.

My novel is with the publisher and his editor had me working on a lot of fronts. It’s getting there and is a bit ahead of schedule.

But the real reason to blog is a recent find. I found a real old fashioned men’s barber shop not too far from my new job. Not the normal 21st century metrosexual hairdresser. A real men’s barber shop with a pile of fishing magazines sitting there and the cricket on the radio up on the shelf.

Neville has been working this shop for forty years. He came home from Vietnam, got to work, and has not stopped. I think the only thing that has changed in all that time is the date on the magazines.

His prices are also from a bygone era. Where else do you get a haircut for $11.50? Nowhere, that’s where. And he’s a good man with a pair of scissors.

Finding Neville in his shop is even enough to get me blogging again. Wonders will never cease.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Back In the Saddle”

  1. Peter Says:

    Hello,

    Can you tell me where the barbershop is? I am looking for a good old fashioned barbershop and I saw Neville mentioned on an ABC Newcastle article.

    Thanks and regards,

    Peter

    • scribblygum Says:

      Hi Peter,

      You’ll find Neville Godfrey’s barber shop at 240 (close enough) Lambton Road, New Lambton.

      Kim

Leave a Reply

